I was there

“I was there,

When you woke me up that midnight to ask how you’ll be able to forget her for good & just get it over with.

 

I was there,

When you pleaded to meet me at three the next afternoon & I had to skip class just to let you rant about how she always ends up hurting you.

 

I was there,

When you made it through the first days of heart break because she agreed breaking up with you too easily & you begged her to stay.

 

I was there,

When you drowned yourself in alcohol and cigarettes and loud bars & I lost sleep because I had to drag you to taxis to take you home.

 

I was there,

When you finally got tired of late night fist fights & often looked outside your room’s window with sad, tired eyes instead.

 

I was there,

When you started smiling again & finally continued humming along to the bitter love songs you used to hate.

 

I was there,

When you asked me how I was able to still be there for you even if you didn’t deserve someone like me & I assured you I will always be here.

 

I was there,

When she knocked on your door that late September night & told you how sorry she was, sobbing, telling you how much she missed you.

 

I was there,

When you gave her that nth chance without a second thought as you hugged her tight & I had to leave because I couldn’t help the tears that were stinging my eyes.

 

I was there,

When you started fading away again because she’s back & you don’t need me anymore.

 

I was there,

Because I was stupid

& unfortunately, I still am.

 

I was there.

Because I was in love with you

& unfortunately, I still am.”

– Tabiii

i-was-there

 

Leave a Reply

